Frontier Red Hill Cemetery

Frontier Red Hill Cemetery is in southwest Van Zandt County here in Texas. It dates back to 1856 when two sisters died two days apart. There are several confederate soldiers buried in the cemetery too. There are numerous graves of young children, some just a day old, some three to four years of age at their passing. Goes to show how tough times and disease ravaged the land. One family had buried 4 children in a 5 year span. The cemetary is actually very well caried for by a volunteer group and is used to this day, although not often.

Thanks to Jerry at Phoport for writing this article on setting up an image gallery as I had no clue.

16 thoughts on “Frontier Red Hill Cemetery

      • Just anything you can think up. I just like your simple directions, you tell people what they need to do to get the job done without a lot of filler material.

      • I will see what I can come up with. If you think of something, let me know and I’ll see what I can do. I tried to follow WP’s directions but got lost and knew that might be the same with many others. So, I learned how on my own the wrote instruction immoderately after.

  1. Nice shots… and, a new confederate flag. Gotta love the south.

    Cemeteries are really great places to go with your camera… there’s always something interesting to see.

  2. love the one with flag! and the busted up cement … time and nature takes it’s toll on families AND structures.
    I stopped on my way home from the beach to shoot photos at a cemetery … need to work on editing them.

Leave a Reply

Rescued Rover Dog Training

Lakewood, Colorado Dog Training (720) 507-6837

H.J. Ruiz - Avian101

"My Backyard Visitors" - All about birds - The world is my backyard!

INEGALERI

© Ine Burke. All rights reserved.

dobetteralways

Welcome to the Monkey House

Robyn Graham Photography

Capturing Life One Image at a Time

Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

simonbowlerphotos

Welcome to Simons Blog where I like to share my favourite images with you

west517

the world we know

elisa ruland

All you need is love...and travel.

Scene from the Hill

An experiment in photographic self-improvement.

Reflections on Life and other Thoughts

A compilaction of my life and thoughts.

boredpictures

photos in and around, here and there

Vit Peyr

Original Photography

ashleylynnphotographyxoxo

Come and visit my blog everyday and see what new photos I have to share with you. :)

Karen Gadient

Paint Slinger in Inner Space

Always Backroads

In a different light: my view of the world.

Donald Reese Photography

All images copyrighted. Please don't use without permission

philipcampbellPHOTOGRAPHY

Professional Photography

Sunearthsky

Meditations from the Midwest

When I Ride...

How life coaches me as I ride...

