Sacred Ground-Weird Experience

Sun-Rays-web

Yesterday morning I drove to the site of The Battle of the Neches, which is where over 100 American Indians were massacred, some reports say over 800 were killed. Native Americans consider the ground sacred. As I get out of my truck and take off walking I noticed that it was eerily quiet, not even birds where chirping. After walking just a minute or two I really felt like I was being watched, being stupid I continued on down the trail pausing to take this photo in one turn of the trail. I continue on to the site of the massacre, which sits in a clearing roughly one hundred yards in diameter. As I get to the granite marker that marks where one of the chiefs was killed a single coyote let out with a howl! There were no other howls or sounds.

Around the marker were various items people had left, bones, feathers, etc… I only took a few photographs as the feeling of being watched grew. I returned down the trail to my truck and headed home and the first thing I do is to do some research, in one article which you can read here, many people have reported a sense of “we’re not alone”. I have never before had any feeling like that, definitely one of the strangest feelings I have experienced. FYI this is a three image HDR composite and probably the only one you will get to see of this area.

15 thoughts on “Sacred Ground-Weird Experience

  1. Fascinating experience. Yes I have had that feeling but in the type of photography I do and where I go I usually assume it is a mountain lion and yes I leave immediately and carefully. Thanks for sharing this and the photo. πŸ™‚

  2. Spooky and intriguing! I may have to check it out. According to the article you referenced I need to bring corn meal to bless the stones along the path….interesting

  3. fascinating experience! I like the fact it was quiet and once you get to the granite marker you hear a coyote howl…definitely an interesting spot…

  4. Interesting….I had that feeling only once when out taking photographs. I had walked to the end of a long road and into a grove on large pine trees emerged on the other side and found myself standing next to the wall of the St. Cloud State Reformatory. I couldn’t leave soon enough…

  5. This is absolutely gorgeous Bryan. And such an interesting story to accompany it. I think there is something to be said for spirits walking among us…..thanks for sharing your incredible experience. Robyn

Leave a Reply

Rescued Rover Dog Training

Lakewood, Colorado Dog Training (720) 507-6837

H.J. Ruiz - Avian101

"My Backyard Visitors" - All about birds - The world is my backyard!

INEGALERI

Β© Ine Burke. All rights reserved.

dobetteralways

Welcome to the Monkey House

Robyn Graham Photography

Capturing Life One Image at a Time

Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

simonbowlerphotos

Welcome to Simons Blog where I like to share my favourite images with you

west517

the world we know

elisa ruland

All you need is love...and travel.

Scene from the Hill

An experiment in photographic self-improvement.

Reflections on Life and other Thoughts

A compilaction of my life and thoughts.

boredpictures

photos in and around, here and there

Vit Peyr

Original Photography

ashleylynnphotographyxoxo

Come and visit my blog everyday and see what new photos I have to share with you. :)

Karen Gadient

Paint Slinger in Inner Space

Always Backroads

In a different light: my view of the world.

Donald Reese Photography

All images copyrighted. Please don't use without permission

philipcampbellPHOTOGRAPHY

Professional Photography

Sunearthsky

Meditations from the Midwest

When I Ride...

How life coaches me as I ride...

